## **Arkansas Game and Fish Commission**

## **Code Book**

The regulations in this Code Book are hereby adopted by the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission under authority of Amendment 35 to the Constitution of the State of Arkansas. All laws, rules, regulations, or orders in conflict with the regulations in this Code Book are hereby repealed by the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission.

## E1.12 CWD Management Zone

**CWD MANAGEMENT ZONE:** any county where a wild or captive cervid has tested positive for chronic wasting disease (CWD) and any county that encompasses any portion of a 10-mile radius buffer around any CWD positive sample collection site that the Commission has deemed high risk for CWD occurrence through the risk evaluation process set forth in CWD Management Strategy Plan. Zone includes all lands within Ashley, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Cleburne, Craighead, Crawford, Franklin, Independence, Jackson, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Newton, Pope, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, Van Buren, Washington, and Yell counties. Where any other county or a portion thereof is within a 10-mile radius of a CWD positive sample collection site and deemed to be high risk, the Director or his or her designee may add that entire county to the CWD Management Zone upon notice to the public through posting an updated description of the CWD Management Zone on the AGFC website, social media or other means reasonably calculated to inform the public.

The CWD Management Zone is further divided into the following tiers:

- A. **Tier 1 (Red) Counties**: Boone, Carroll, Madison, Newton, and Searcy counties.
- B. Tier 2 (Orange) Counties: Ashley, Benton, Bradley, Cleburne, Craighead, Crawford, Franklin, Independence, Jackson, Johnson, Logan, Marion, Mississippi, Pope, Randolph, Sebastian, Sharp, Union, Van Buren, Washington, and Yell counties, plus any county in the CWD Management Zone that is not in the list of Tier 1 counties.